Price of a stairlift

Sometimes our accommodations are no longer suited to our way of life. Whether it is our age or a change in our lives, our homes are not as comfortable as they used to be.

Sometimes our accommodations are no longer suited to our way of life. Whether it is our age or a change in our lives, our homes are not as comfortable as they used to be.

This is especially often the case when we live in a house with one or more floors and as we age. Space and floors, which were before luxury and comfort, become an obstacle to enjoying our home.

Fortunately, there are solutions that will allow you to reclaim the use of this space, taking into account your movement difficulties. Among them is the stairlift. This device aims to help people with reduced mobility to access the upper floors of a house.

So let’s take a look at the different models, the necessary criteria to select your stairlift and, above all, the prices and cost of installing these devices.

Get free quotes now for installing a stairlift in your home

What is a stairlift?

The stairlift, or person lift, is a household installation that allows easy access to the floor of your house.

This device comes in the form of a seat or an armchair attached to the stairs that allows you to go up and down the stairs without any effort. The chair is installed on a rail which is itself attached to the stairs. This installation is then connected to a motor the purpose of which is to raise or lower the seat on simple command.

The main objective of this type of installation is to greatly improve the comfort of people with reduced mobility by allowing them to move around their home according to their needs and desires. It is therefore recommended for seniors and people with reduced mobility who would like to improve their internal mobility and avoid a possible move.

The main advantage of stairlifts is their compatibility with all types of stairs and the guarantee of safety that they will give you. Indeed, they are generally equipped with a seat belt allowing the user not to fall out of the seat when it is in motion.

The main advantage of stairlifts is their compatibility with all types of stairs and the guarantee of safety that they will give you. Indeed, they are generally equipped with a seat belt allowing the user not to fall from the seat when the latter is in motion.

There are several models of stairlifts, of different sizes and sound levels. In order to choose the model that is best for you, it is therefore important to think about your needs. Consider in particular your possibility of movement and the structure of your staircase.

How to choose a stairlift?

Since there are different types of stairlifts, or lift chairs, and their price varies from model to model, it is important to consider the structure of your staircase before making your choice. So think about the following questions:

  • Will the installation be done on an internal or external staircase?
  • Is the staircase straight or curved?
  • What is the slope of the stairs?
  • How many bends does the staircase have?
  • Does the staircase consist of an intermediate landing?
  • What are the dimensions of the staircase (both in length and in width)?

The answers to all these questions will allow you to refine your selection. You will then be able to discern, among the different prices, the models that correspond to your budget.

As you can see, the questions mainly revolve around the layout of your staircase. Indeed, this one will have to allow the installation of the rails and the motorized system while being wide enough so that the chair can go up and down the steps. For example, in a staircase that is too narrow, it will be impossible for you to set up a lift chair. In general, the minimum width is between 60cm and 70cm depending on the model.

Budget to plan according to the type of staircase

Depending on your staircase, you can get a first idea of ​​the price of the stairlift to install.

Pour un escalier tournant, vous aurez besoin d'un monte-escalier adapté.

For a straight staircase

They are the easiest pieces of equipment to install, so they are also the least expensive . Depending on the type of stairlift, you will need to count between € 2,500 and € 5,000 .

For a spiral staircase

Very often, our staircase is not straight, but consists of a bend in order to save space and better serve the upper spaces. It is therefore necessary to use a revolving stairlift.

This equipment is specially designed to follow the change in orientation of a staircase. The rail system is different, and some parts of the chair are also specially designed to negotiate turns safely .

For this type of installation, you will need to count between € 4,000 and € 10,000 .

For an exterior staircase

Sometimes the staircase that we have to climb is located outside and represents the main access to our accommodation. In this case, it will be necessary to install a special stairlift for the exterior. These have materials resistant to water, sun, frost and high winds .

The price of an outdoor stairlift is slightly higher than that of an indoor stairlift. It will take between 4,000 € and 12,000 € .

Other factors influencing the final cost

Besides the type of staircase, there are other factors to consider in your budget. So you will also need to think about the brand, options, installation and model of stairlift.

The brand

As with any device, the choice of brand of your chair will influence the price. Obviously, choosing a reputable brand of stair chair brings a guarantee of quality, but it will also increase the price of it.

The options

When installing a stairlift, you can choose different options, such as a sliding rail, a comfort seat or a specific coating . All of these little details will have a direct bearing on the final cost of your chair.

The pose

This must be carried out by a professional in order to comply with installation standards and guarantee the safe use of your device. You will therefore have to take it into account in your overall budget.

Le modèle de monte-escalier avec fauteuil est plus cher.Models of stair lifts

You have two options.

On the one hand, you can opt for lifting platform that allows you to raise a wheelchair. In this case, the budget to be expected is between € 4,000 and € 20,000 depending on the accessories and the brand.

On the other hand, you can choose a model with an armchair to sit on. You will then need to plan for a higher budget. Indeed, the price of this type of installation starts at 9,000 € .

The installation and cost of installing a stairlift

For this operation, you must call in a qualified professional. Indeed, it requires experience, meticulous work and compliance with certain safety standards.

First of all, the craftsman in charge of the installation will have to analyze the staircase concerned and assess the person (s) who will use it. Indeed, we are all different and, in order to ensure maximum comfort of use, the wheelchair should correspond as best as possible to the recurrent user of the wheelchair.

Then, the professional in charge of the work will install the rail and the chair along the stairs. This operation can be more or less complex and long depending on the layout of your staircase. For example, if the staircase has a width of less than 60cm, it will have to be widened in order to have the minimum mandatory width.

Finally, he will have to install the electric battery that will power your stairlift, as well as all its accessories. The battery will always guarantee the user the possibility of moving around, even in the event of a power cut.

In general, when buying a stairlift, professionals in the sector also offer packages including the price of the stairlift and the price of installation. Nevertheless, we can estimate that, depending on the difficulty of the installation, the cost of the installation will be between € 1,000 and € 3,000 .

Additional costs to be expected

As you can see, giving a precise price for a stair lift chair is not easy. The best thing to do to know it in more detail is to find out from the professionals in the sector. We recommend that you request and compare at least three quotes in order to get an overview of the budget you will need to install this type of device.

When you ask for a quote, it will be very important to show the device and the cost of installation. But it is also important to include other points that can have a strong impact on your budget in the medium term.

Thus, for this type of installation, it is recommended to request a reimbursement guarantee in the event of non-satisfaction.

It is also strongly suggested to request information on a maintenance and service contract for your device . This after-sales service will be very useful to ensure the durability of your device and your installation. In general, these clauses provide for one visit per year to have the stairlift checked by a professional technician. Among other things, he will check the proper functioning of the stairlift, he will check the installation and fixings and he will lubricate the rails.

If you decide not to include it at the time of purchase, these are fees that might surprise you later when you need to ensure your device is serviced.

Home care: the key to the next decade

It’s no secret that the world’s population is aging. One of the major challenges for the government for the next few years will be to keep seniors as long as possible in their homes, while ensuring their safety. The stairlift can be one of the tools of this maintenance, but it is unfortunately not within the reach of all budgets. The simplest and cheapest solution today is remote assistance. If you have no idea how it works, and want to know more about remote assistance services, it is best to rely on one of the pioneers in this sector: tele-assistance-senior.fr. This company will of course allow you to choose between simple assistance or fall detection. But where it stands out is through the scope of its device. The trigger can be done more than 100 meters from the base, when most of the other offers only allow a distance of 30 m. The person will therefore be safe, even if they go into their garden or if they are upstairs (two particularly accident-prone areas in a house).

Prix d’un monte-escalier

Parfois, nos logements ne sont plus adaptés à notre mode de vie. Que cela soit dû à notre âge ou à un changement dans nos vies, nos maisons ne sont alors plus aussi confortables qu’elles ne l’étaient auparavant.

C’est notamment souvent le cas lorsque nous habitons une maison avec un ou plusieurs étages et que nous vieillissons. L’espace et les étages, qui étaient avant un luxe et un confort, deviennent un obstacle pour profiter de notre foyer.

Heureusement, il existe des solutions qui vous permettront de récupérer l’usage de cet espace en prenant en compte vos difficultés de mouvement. Parmi elles se trouve le monte-escalier. Cet appareil vise à aider les personnes à mobilité réduite à accéder aux étages supérieurs d’une maison.

Parcourons donc les différents modèles, les critères nécessaires pour sélectionner votre monte-escalier et, surtout, les prix et le coût de pose de ces appareils.

Obtenez dès maintenant des devis gratuits pour l’installation d’un monte-escalier chez vous

Qu’est-ce qu’un monte-escalier ?

Le monte-escalier, ou monte-personnes, est une installation domestique qui permet d’accéder à l’étage de votre maison facilement.

Cet appareil se présente sous la forme d’un siège ou d’un fauteuil fixé à l’escalier qui permet de monter et descendre les escaliers sans aucun effort. Le fauteuil est installé sur un rail qui est lui-même fixé à l’escalier. Cette installation est ensuite reliée à un moteur dont le but est de faire monter ou descendre le siège sur simple commande.

L’objectif principal de ce type d’installation est d’améliorer fortement le confort des personnes à mobilité réduite en leur permettant de se déplacer à l’intérieur de leur maison selon leurs besoins et envies. Il est donc recommandé pour les seniors et personnes à mobilité réduite qui voudraient améliorer leur mobilité intérieure et éviter un éventuel déménagement.

L’avantage principal des monte-escaliers est leur compatibilité avec tous les types d’escalier et la garantie de sécurité qu’ils vous procureront. En effet, ils sont en général équipés d’une ceinture de sécurité permettant à leur utilisateur de ne pas tomber du siège lorsque ce dernier est en mouvement.

Il existe plusieurs modèles de monte-escaliers, de tailles et de niveaux sonores différents. Afin de choisir le modèle qui vous convient le mieux, il est donc important de réfléchir à vos besoins. Pensez notamment à votre possibilité de mouvements et à la structure de votre escalier.

Comment choisir un monte-escalier ?

Comme il existe différents types de monte-escaliers, ou chaises élévatrices, et que leur prix diffère d’un modèle à l’autre, il est important de s’intéresser à la structure de votre escalier avant de faire votre choix. Réfléchissez donc aux questions suivantes :

  • L’installation se fera-t-elle sur un escalier interne ou externe ?
  • L’escalier est-il droit ou tournant ?
  • Quelle est la pente de l’escalier ?
  • De combien de virages est composé l’escalier ?
  • L’escalier est-il constitué d’un palier intermédiaire ?
  • Quelles sont les dimensions de l’escalier (tant en longueur qu’en largeur) ?

Les réponses à toutes ces questions vous permettront d’affiner votre sélection. Vous pourrez alors discerner, parmi les différents prix, les modèles qui correspondent à votre budget.

Comme vous avez pu le constater, les questions tournent principalement autour de l’agencement de votre escalier. En effet, celui-ci devra permettre l’installation des rails et du système motorisé tout en étant assez large pour que le fauteuil puisse monter et descendre les marches. Par exemple, dans un escalier trop étroit, il vous sera impossible de mettre en place un fauteuil élévateur. En général, la largeur minimale est comprise entre 60cm et 70cm selon les modèles.

Budget à prévoir selon le type d’escalier

En fonction de votre escalier, vous pourrez avoir une première idée du prix du monte-escalier à installer.

Pour un escalier tournant, vous aurez besoin d'un monte-escalier adapté.

Pour un escalier droit

Ce sont les équipements les plus simples à installer, donc ce sont aussi les moins onéreux. Selon le type de monte-escalier, il vous faudra compter entre 2.500€ et 5.000€.

Pour un escalier tournant

Bien souvent, notre escalier n’est pas droit, mais est composé d’un virage afin de gagner de l’espace et de mieux desservir les espaces supérieurs. Il faut donc avoir recours à un monte-escalier tournant.

Ces équipements sont spécialement réalisés pour suivre le changement d’orientation d’un escalier. Le système de rail est différent et certaines parties du fauteuil sont également spécialement conçues pour négocier les virages en toute sécurité.

Pour ce type d’installation, il vous faudra compter entre 4.000€ et 10.000€.

Pour un escalier extérieur

Parfois, l’escalier que nous avons à monter est situé en extérieur et représente l’accès principal à notre logement. Dans ce cas, il faudra installer un monte-escalier spécial pour l’extérieur. Ceux-ci disposent de matériaux résistants à l’eau, au soleil, au gel et aux grands vents.

Le prix d’un monte-escalier extérieur est légèrement plus élevé que celui d’un monte-escalier intérieur. Il faudra compter entre 4.000€ et 12.000€.

Autres facteurs influençant le coût final

Outre le type d’escalier, il existe d’autres facteurs à prendre en compte dans votre budget. Ainsi, vous devrez aussi penser à la marque, aux options, à la pose et au modèle de monte-escalier.

La marque

Comme pour tout appareil, le choix de la marque de votre fauteuil influencera le prix. Évidemment, choisir une marque de fauteuil d’escalier réputée apporte une garantie de qualité, mais cela augmentera aussi le prix de celui-ci.

Les options

Au moment d’installer un monte-escalier, on peut choisir différentes options, telles qu’un rail coulissant, un siège confort ou encore un revêtement spécifique. Tous ces petits détails auront une incidence directe sur le coût final de votre fauteuil.

La pose

Celle-ci devra être effectuée par un professionnel afin de respecter les normes d’installation et garantir la sécurité d’utilisation de votre appareil. Vous devrez donc la prendre en compte dans votre budget global.

Le modèle de monte-escalier avec fauteuil est plus cher.Les modèles de monte-escalier

Vous avez deux options.

D’une part, vous pouvez opter pour une plateforme élévatrice qui permet de faire monter un fauteuil roulant. Dans ce cas-là, le budget à prévoir se situe entre 4.000€ et 20.000€ selon les accessoires et la marque.

D’autre part, vous pouvez choisir un modèle avec un fauteuil pour vous asseoir. Il vous faudra alors prévoir un budget plus élevé. En effet, le prix de ce type d’installation démarre à 9.000€.

La pose et coût d’installation d’un monte-escalier

Pour cette opération, vous devrez obligatoirement faire appel à un professionnel qualifié. En effet, elle demande de l’expérience, un travail minutieux et le respect de certaines normes de sécurité.

Tout d’abord, l’artisan chargé de la pose devra analyser l’escalier concerné et évaluer la ou des personne(s) qui devront l’utiliser. En effet, nous sommes tous différents et, afin d’assurer un confort maximum d’utilisation, le fauteuil devra correspondre au mieux à l’utilisateur récurrent du fauteuil.

Ensuite, le professionnel en charge des travaux installera le rail et le fauteuil le long de l’escalier. Cette opération peut être plus ou moins complexe et longue selon l’agencement de votre escalier. Par exemple, si l’escalier présente une largeur inférieure à 60cm, il faudra l’élargir afin de disposer de la largeur minimale obligatoire.

Pour terminer, il lui faudra installer la batterie électrique qui alimentera votre monte-escalier, ainsi que tous ses accessoires. La batterie permettra de toujours garantir à l’utilisateur la possibilité de se déplacer, même en cas de coupure d’électricité.

En général, lors de l’achat d’un monte-escalier, les professionnels du secteur proposent aussi des forfaits comprenant le prix du monte-escalier et le prix de pose. Néanmoins, on peut estimer que, selon la difficulté de l’installation, le coût de la pose se situera entre 1.000€ et 3.000€.

Coûts supplémentaires à prévoir

Comme vous avez pu le constater, donner un prix précis d’un fauteuil monte-escalier n’est pas chose facile. La meilleure chose à faire pour le connaître plus en détail est de vous renseigner auprès des professionnels du secteur. Nous vous recommandons de demander et comparer au minimum trois devis afin d’avoir une vue d’ensemble du budget dont vous aurez besoin pour installer ce type d’appareil.

Lorsque vous demanderez un devis, il sera très important de faire apparaître l’appareil et le coût de pose. Mais il est aussi important d’y faire figurer d’autres points qui peuvent avoir une forte incidence sur votre budget sur le moyen terme.

Ainsi, pour ce type d’installation, il est recommandé de demander une garantie remboursement en cas de non satisfaction.

Il est aussi fortement suggéré de demander des informations sur un contrat de maintenance et d’entretien de votre appareil. Ce service après-vente sera très utile pour vous assurer la durabilité de votre appareil et de votre installation. En général, ces clauses prévoient une visite par an afin de faire vérifier le monte-escalier par un technicien professionnel. Entre autres, il vérifiera le bon fonctionnement du monte-escalier, il contrôlera l’installation et les fixations et il procédera au graissage des rails.

Si vous décidiez de ne pas l’inclure au moment de l’achat, ce sont des frais qui pourraient vous surprendre plus tard lorsque vous devrez vous assurer de l’entretien de votre appareil.